STD (Subscriber Trunk Dialling) is a telephone numbering system that permits subscribers to dial trunk calls without operator's help. The term STD was introduced when it first became possible for making domestic long distance calls. Area codes are used to identify the location of the subscriber telephone connection. Area codes are preceded by a '0'. The '0' is an India's NDD (national direct dialing) code used for making statewide domestic calls. If you are dialing an inbound international call and phone number starts with '0', then you will need to remove that '0 '.

Telephone Dialing Code - Browse by State

Listed here the state wise telephone dialing codes of various district, cities and towns in India.

Landline Numbering

  • BSNL - Numbers starts with a '2'
  • MTNL - Numbers starts with a '2'
  • Reliance Communications - Numbers starts with a '3'
  • Bharti Airtel - Numbers starts with a '4'
  • MTS India - Numbers starts with a '5'
  • Datacom Solutions - Numbers starts with a '6'
  • Tata Indicom - Numbers starts with a '7'

Postal Zones in India

  • 1 - Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab
  • 2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
  • 3 - Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Rajasthan
  • 4 - Chhattisgarh, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra
  • 5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
  • 6 - Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
  • 7 - Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal
  • 8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
  • 9 - Army Post office (APO), Field Post office (FPO)