What is IFSC Code?

The IFSC, also known as Indian Financial System Code is a 11 digit unique alpha-numeric code assigned by the Reserve Bank of India. This code is used to identify the bank branches that are participate in NEFT, RTGS and IMPS electronic funds transfer in India.

IFSC code is a unique eleven digit alphanumeric code and this code can be used for online money transfer via NEFT, RTGS and IMPS by the bank account holders. In this 11 digit code, the first FOUR alphabetic characters represents the name of the bank, 5th character is ZERO (0), which is a reserved value and it will used for future use. The remaining last 6 characters represent the branch code of the bank.

IFSC, MICR Code Locator Tool - Browse by Bank

The site has listed over 160 banks with 1,15,940+ branch's IFSC code, MICR code, address, city, district, state and contact details.

What is Pincode?

The Indian postal department uses a Postal Index Number (PIN) or Pincode for identifying delivery post office address location. The PIN code is a 6 digit number and the numbers are divided into 9 postal zones. The first digit represents the region, the second digits represent the sub-region, the third digit represents the district of the state and the remaining three digits represents the branch location of the postoffice.

Pincode / Post Office Locator Tool - Browse by State

Postal Zones in India

  • 1 - Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab
  • 2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
  • 3 - Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Rajasthan
  • 4 - Chhattisgarh, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra
  • 5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
  • 6 - Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
  • 7 - Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal
  • 8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
  • 9 - Army Post office (APO), Field Post office (FPO)

PIN Numbering

  • The first digit indicates the region of the state.
  • The second digit indicates the sub region of the postal circle.
  • The third digit indicates the postal district of the state.
  • The last 3 digits indicates the delivery Post Office.

What is STD Code?

STD (Subscriber Trunk Dialling) is a telephone numbering system that permits subscribers to dial trunk calls without operator's help. The term STD was introduced when it first became possible for making domestic long distance calls. Area codes are used to identify the location of the subscriber telephone connection.

Telephone Dialing Codes - Browse by State

In India, Landline telephone numbers are 6, 7, or 8 digits long. The total length of phone number and correspond area code must be 10. (i.e.,) The total value of subscriber number and STD code of area code numbers should be in 10.

Area CodeSubscriber Number

Area codes are preceded by a '0'. The '0' is an India's NDD (national direct dialing) code used for making statewide domestic calls. If you are dialing an inbound international call and phone number starts with '0', then you will need to remove that '0 '.